Review – Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen

DETAILS
Title: Keeping the Moon
Author: Sarah Dessen
Publisher: Speak
Genre: Young Adult – Contemporary
Page Count: 228
My Rating: 2 stars
Acquired: Goodwill – $0.50
Status: Unhauled, 2nd and Charles, $1.00

SUMMARY

From Goodreads:
Colie expects the worst when she’s sent to spend the summer with her eccentric aunt Mira while her mother, queen of the television infomercial, tours Europe. Always an outcast — first for being fat and then for being “easy” — Colie has no friends at home and doesn’t expect to find any in Colby, North Carolina. But then she lands a job at the Last Chance Cafe and meets fellow waitresses Morgan and Isabel, best friends with a loving yet volatile relationship. Wacky yet wise, Morgan and Isabel help Colie see herself in a new way and realize the potential that has been there all along.

REVIEW
Story:
Although a bit unoriginal, I did enjoy the story. The vast majority of the events that occurred during the book could very well happen to the average teenager on summer break – going away, a job, new friends, etc. The girl friendships that developed throughout the story were a positive portrayal of how friendships should be – happy and messy and so important. I really enjoyed that aspect of the book.

Characters:
I enjoyed the characters and their development throughout the book. I do think that they all went through a significant amount of growth and self discovery which really added to the story. My favorite characters were Mira and Norman. It is obvious that they know who they are and could care less about what anyone thinks about them. Colie should take a page from their books (pun intended)!

Final Thoughts:
Overall, it was a quick, easy read. However, I did have some problems with the way that Sarah Dessen addressed some of Colie’s insecurities, which was a major deal breaker for me. (See my Goodreads review for details – contains spoilers!) It was my first of Sarah Dessen’s works that I’ve picked up. At this point, I’m not sure if I’ll pick up another.

Update 8/30/2015: I picked up another Sarah Dessen book (That Summer) about a month ago and it will be my last.

Leave a Reply

