Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Series I Have YET To Finish

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature/meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is ten finished series that you have yet to finish.

As you may or may not know from my post earlier this week, I am working on eliminating unfinished series in my life. Hopefully, I will not have an answer for this in the future but for now…

Contours of the Heart (Easy, Breakable, Sweet) by Tammara Webber

I read Easy when it first came out and I loved it (though I don’t remember it) so I am excited to continue this series after a re-read of Easy.

Coincidence (The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden, The Redemption of Callie & Kayden, The Destiny of Violet & Luke, The Probability of Violet & Luke, The Certainty of Violet & Luke, The Resolution of Callie & Kayden, Seth & Greyson) by Jessica Sorensen

As you can tell, this series is… involved. I’ve read the first, but nothing further. The first was fluffy and cute, so I imagine they will be pretty quick to get through, but it’s the starting that’s the hard part!

Shopaholic (Confessions of a Shopaholic, Shopaholic Takes Manhattan, Shopaholic Ties the Knot, Shopaholic and Sister, Shopaholic & Baby, Mini Shopaholic, Shopaholic to the Stars, Shopaholic to the Rescue(?!)) by Sophie Kinsella

Ok, to be fair I thought this series was done, but according to Goodreads it isn’t?! Apparently the 8th book is expected out this year? Anyway, same story as my last series in this list. This one is just a bit of an investment. And frankly, while the first one ended up okay, I was in awe of the main characters stupidity for most of the book. As I saw one blogger say, “these books stress me out.”

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, P.S. I Still Love You) by Jenny Han

I read the first book earlier this year, so I’m hoping my memory doesn’t fail me and I will be able to pick up the second in this duology soon.

Pushing the Limits (Pushing the Limits, Dare You To, Crash into You, Take Me On, Chasing Impossible) by Katie McGarry

These are some more light and fluffy contemporaries. I’ve read the first two and need to continue on.

Boomerang (Boomerang, Rebound, Bounce) by Noelle August (aka Veronica Rossi) 

I loved Veronica Rossi’s Under the Never Sky series, so I checked out her new adult work. The first two in this series were adorable, so I’m excited to complete the series, as Bounce was just released August 25th!

Breathe (Breathe, Resist) by Sarah Crossan

I’m hoping this is one of those stories that you can jump into without really remembering what is going on because I don’t intend to re-read Breathe. But I literally have Resist sitting next to me on my desk bookshelf, so I will be finishing this series soon.

Souls (Shattered Souls, Fragile Spirits) by Mary Lindsey

I read Shattered Souls back in 2012 but I don’t remember much about it other than I enjoyed it. I do want to finish the duology but I will probably have to re-read first.

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, Unravel Me, Ignite Me) by Tahereh Mafi

I read the first book in this series and wasn’t too impressed, but I’ve heard many people say that it gets a lot better in books two and three. Plus, this is a favorite for a lot of people, so I think I’ll see what the hype is all about.

Penryn & the End of Days (Angelfall, World After, End of Days) by Susan Ee

I read Angelfall ages ago so I will have to re-read it, but I remember Penryn being a kickass female character in a story jam packed with action and excitement. Also a favorite of many, I’m definitely going to continue on.

While typing this list out, I noticed that most of the series that I haven’t finished are contemporaries. I have a few theories about why this is. First, I read a lot of contemporaries when I really got into reading because I hadn’t really discovered a lot of other genres. Second, perhaps I don’t like contemporaries as much as I think I do. Third, my tastes have changed to favor other genres (like fantasy, dystopian, etc.) so I tend to finish those series more quickly. Who knows! Once I’ve finished all of my unfinished series, it will be interesting to see which types of series I reach for more often!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Series I Have YET To Finish

  1. I haven’t read any of these. I’m really wanting to start Shatter Me & Penryn. Just too many series and always more to start. I couldn’t even really whittle my list down to ten.

    Like

Leave a Reply

