Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Bookish Confessions

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week is a freebie week, so I’ve decided to list ten bookish confessions.

  1. I did not read all of the required reading in high school. In fact, I actually kind of hated English all throughout school since I’ve always been more of a math and science person. I read mostly Cliff Notes and Pink Monkey notes for the majority of high school. Senior year something just clicked and I fell in love with reading again so I finally started reading my assigned books.
  1. I think that Denver’s Public Library network is one of the best out there. They have a floating shelf, meaning books stay where they get returned or requested, no matter what the branch. This makes browsing fun because they always have a different selection. Also, it is incredibly easy to request books from any branch and pick them up at your convenience. They also utilize Overdrive, so e-book/audiobook rental is seamless as well.
  1. I need more non-fiction in my life. Non-fiction is one of those genres that I hardly ever reach for even though I have many books that seem fascinating to me. Maybe it’s just because I find most of them really boring? Regardless, I need to to try a bit harder!
  1. If I already saw the TV show/movie that a book is based on, I probably won’t read the book. The story just seems tainted. I don’t want to go into a story picturing certain celebs as characters. It just feels wrong. Some examples are Gone Girl, The Book Thief, Game of Thrones, Lord of the Rings, etc.
  1. I own an untouched box set of hardback Harry Potter books that I am saving for my future children. I know that they will obviously still be printing HP when the time comes, but I don’t want them to read new editions with cover changes. I want them to have an authentic HP experience!
  1. I like my 2009 Kindle better than my new one. I got a Kindle back in 2009 and didn’t really use it until about 2012 but then used it non-stop until this last winter when it died. Then I purchased a Paperwhite and kind of hate it, mostly because it doesn’t have next-page buttons on the side, so I have to move my hand every time I want to turn the page. The only good thing about the new one is the backlight.
  1. I immediately regret lending out books after they’ve left my possession. At first I’m excited that someone is interested in a (presumably) amazing story, but then I can’t help but think, “WHAT DID I DO?” They always come back to me in poor condition, if at all. For instance, I lent the Uglies series to a coworker over a year ago and have not gotten them back yet.
  1. I very rarely pay full price for a book that I haven’t read yet. There’s just too much of a chance that I won’t like it and it will be a waste of money! I know that I won’t get anywhere close to what I paid in buy-back from a used book store. It’s just safer to buy books that I’ve already read but know that I want in my collection. Or, if I’m going to buy an unread book, I get it secondhand.
  1. My bookshelf is usually in a state of disarray. It’s kind of a catch-all for my room since I’d rather have a clean desk than a clean bookshelf. It always has random stuff and new-to-me books waiting to be properly shelved. Here’s a pic of my shelf currently. Terrible, I know.

20150914_120425

  1. I’m most excited to own a house so that I can have a Little Free Library. It’s just so important to promote literacy in the community and I can’t wait to do my part! If you don’t know what it is, here is a link. I will be doing my own post on them soon!

Those are just a few of my bookish confessions.

Feel free to share some of yours – I can probably relate!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 10 Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

