Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

x35G-e1T

This Saturday, October 17th, I will be participating in my first Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon! If you haven’t heard of it, Dewey’s 24 Readathon is pretty much what it sounds like! Everyone all over the world starts at the exact same time and reads as much as they can for 24 hours. Originally started in 2007, it has grown from 37 participants to over 1500. There are hourly posts on their website, cheerleaders that cheer readers on, and tons of prizes. If you would like to participate as a reader, sign up here. If you would like to participate as a cheerleader, sign up here.

I am beyond excited to participate. I am excited to get a lot of reading done, but I’m more excited to really feel immersed in the book community for 24 hours.

I will create a post here and update my progress periodically. I also may participate in the hourly memes that are hosted on Dewey’s website. You can also follow me on Twitter for the latest updates too!


Onto the exciting stuff! What do I plan on reading during these 24 hours? Well, I’m not entirely sure. I’ve been known to be a mood reader that freestyles often. But in order to avoid indecisively staring at my bookshelves (ain’t nobody got time for that!), I’m going to make a pile of options. I’m actually going to a used bookstore today, so my option pile may grow, but these are in my pile currently:

harry-potter-illustrated-scholastic

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Illustrated) by J.K. Rowling (Illustration by Jim Kay)

I am currently about 30 pages into this beautiful book and hope to finish it first. It’s an easy read and the pictures should make it go pretty quickly. 

054

Unravel Me and Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

I just finished Shatter Me last night, so I may continue on with the series? They’re certainly quick reads.

971171423149128

Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

I picked both of these up at the library yesterday. They’re relatively short and seem pretty interesting.


317282762874116181775136381254647043cityofthieves.final.indd127003539418

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

The Name of this Book Is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch

City of Thieves by David Benioff

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella

These are some books that are on my shelf that I could potentially pick up, depending on my mood.


Be on the lookout here and on Twitter for updates all day Saturday!

Will you be participating? If so, let me know!

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY (2)

7 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

  1. I’m also participating! I’m going to be busy tomorrow though, or most of the day at least, so i dont know if I’ll get much read. I feel you on being a mood reader, it was a good idea to make a pile to choose from! Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac is really good. I feel i hoped around too much, I’m sorry haha good luck during the readathon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

