Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – Recap and Reflections

x35G-e1T

I survived my first Dewey’s 24 17 Hour Readathon!

For my day of updates, go here

All in all, I think I did pretty well. I woke up at 5am (which is hard!). I read for a solid 17 hours or so (which is really hard!). Then I fell asleep and, upon hearing my alarm, decided to stay asleep (also hard!). I was tired and couldn’t keep my eyes open. Ultimately felt like it wasn’t worth it to be behind on my sleep for the next week. So I “tapped out”, so to speak.

Stats

Books attempted: 3

206407551363812510929432

Books completed: 2

2064075513638125

Pages read: 603, according to my count (Goodreads shows a different page count for The Book of Ivy, so it may be closer to 652.)

Snacks consumed: Ranch seeds, pizza, noodles, lots of Diet Dr. Pepper!

I spent my first readathon really focusing on the reading. I didn’t do many mini-challenges or any of the memes. For the purpose of getting a snapshot of my feelings of the day, I’ll answer some of the questions now.

Opening Survey

Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

I actually didn’t go into the day with a set schedule of what I was going to read. But when I woke up in the morning, I was really feeling The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel, so I started with that.

Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Ranch sunflower seeds (which were gone in a matter of hours)

If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

Like I said previously, I was really excited to feel a part of this amazing community united in doing the thing that we love!

Closing Survey

Which hour was most daunting for you?

The last 7 or so. I was asleep. I really wanted to stay awake, but I decided I just couldn’t/didn’t want to.

Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

Really, any new-to-you fast paced story. I thought I was going to want to read Harry Potter, but I decided that already knowing the story wasn’t going to keep me engaged enough. That being said, I enjoyed both of my reads.

Which book did you enjoy most?

Vicious! It was so engaging and original. I am excited for the sequel.

Which did you enjoy least?

None of them, really!

How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again?

I will absolutely be joining again next April.

What I Learned

  1. Get some really good sleep the night before. I went to bed late and was so excited that I couldn’t sleep. I think it hurt me in the end.
  2. Choose shorter books. I feel accomplished in my 2 books, but I know of people that finished 7 or 8, which is amazing. Perhaps I would have felt more accomplished and motivated if I was completing more.
  3. Do you. At the end of the day, the readathon is whatever you want it to be. The Twitter hosts did a really good job of encouraging people in a “do you” way. I really appreciate that. In the end, if you’ve enjoyed yourself and maybe read a page or two, mission accomplished.

For those that participated this year, thanks for joining me for my first time! I hope your day was as successful as mine!

For those of you that didn’t participate, maybe we’ll see you next time!

5 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon – Recap and Reflections

Leave a Reply

