Top 5 Wednesday – Top Authors I Discovered This Year

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY (3)

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by gingerreadslainey. Find the topics on the Goodreads group.

This week’s topic is top 5 authors I discovered this year.


  1. V.E. Schwab

I honestly hadn’t heard of Victoria before this year but boy am I a fan now! I finished Vicious and am working on The Archived and her writing is absolutely wonderful. Also, she’s such a sweetheart on Twitter.

  1. Rick Yancey

I read two books by Rick Yancey this year – The 5th Wave and The Infinite Sea. They were both exciting reads! I also picked up the first two books in the Monstrumologist series and will be getting to those soon.

  1. Ernest Cline

3 words: Ready Player One! Ready Player One is such a popular book and rightfully so. It is nostalgic and fast-paced and addicting. It will be made into a movie soon, so I recommend checking it out if you haven’t already! I haven’t read Ernest Cline’s 2nd novel, Armada, but I plan on picking it up in 2016.

  1. Andy Weir

The Martian is one of my favorites of 2015 (if not THE favorite) and that is because Andy Weir is an amazing writer. The well-researched technical aspects mixed with smart-assery were so enjoyable to read. I will pick up anything Andy Weir writes in a heartbeat.

  1. Brandon Sanderson

I haven’t read a lot of Brandon Sanderson yet – just the first 2 books in the Reckoners series. That being said, I really enjoyed them and am excited to dig into some of his other stories. The Mistborn series is on my TBR for whenever I get over how intimidating the page counts are.


Did you discover any of these authors this year? Who did you discover? 

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY (2)

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Top Authors I Discovered This Year

Leave a Reply

