Non-Fiction November

Original (1)

Non-Fiction! There’s a lot of it out there but I don’t read it.

Why not? Because I love reading the same old tropes, that’s why… (that was sarcasm). Actually I have no idea why I never read non-fiction, but that’s all about to change!

I will be taking part in Non-Fiction November

I decided that I wanted to read non-fiction in November and guess what? Other people do too!

Non-Fiction November (#nonficnov) was created two years ago by Sophisticated Dorkiness and Regular Rumination. Last year, they were joined by two more co-hosts, Doing Dewey and I’m Lost In Books. From their announcement post:

On the Monday of each week in November, one of us will put up a post with the weekly discussion topic. The post will have a place to share links with responses to the topic OR reviews of nonfiction books that are posted during the week. On the Friday of each week, the weekly host will do a roundup of submissions to peruse. Please also share your posts and recommendations throughout the week on Twitter with the hashtag #NonficNov.

They are also doing a read-along, but I probably won’t be participating in that portion of the event.

During November, I pledge to read non-fiction. As much of it as I can. Only non-fiction, if possible. I have a few books that have been sitting on my physical shelf (as well as Goodreads shelf) for ages that are of the non-fictional variety that I will be reading this month. I am making good on my Fall TBR when I said I wanted more non-fiction my life.

Here’s the thing… I like learning. I’ve always loved school. I went to school for Instruction. I like to consider myself a life-long learner. What better way to learn some stuff than read about it in non-fictional books?!

I will be posting my TBR soon, so be sure to check back!


Will you read any non-fiction in November? Please join us!

a title here

13 thoughts on “Non-Fiction November

  1. This is the first I am hearing about this, and I think I’m going to join. I can’t dedicate the month to soley non-fiction, as I am doing a Six of Crows readalong, but I do have some NF waiting to be read. I recently bought some books about Salem and the history of witchcraft in the US, so I will use those for Nonfiction November 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds really cool! I would really like to participate (I really should read more non-fiction) but i don’t know how well it’ll effect my performance during NaNoWriMo since my motivation works like dominos. Maybe next year. Good luck! I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of non-fiction books you’ve read and enjoyed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nonfiction books are a hit and miss for me. I told myself I wanted to get into them more, but I haven’t yet, (no surprise there) so maybe joining something like this would encourage me to do so!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s my first time participating, but I’m pretty optimistic about it. I’ve chosen books that are really interesting to me, so we’ll see! If it’s not working out, I can always switch it up in the middle of the month. You should participate if you don’t already have plans for November!

      Like

  4. Pingback: October Wrap Up | (bargain)bookbliss

  5. Pingback: November/#nonficnov Wrap Up | (bargain)bookbliss

Leave a Reply

