Blogger Guilt – My 2¢

Hey!

Confession: I’m a worrier. I’m always in my head thinking about things that are done and over or can’t be changed. I also worry about things that I can change but I don’t.

You see, I haven’t posted in weeks. I’ve been thinking about it and brainstorming about it but not actually sitting down to do it. I believe this is what’s called a blogging slump in “the community” and it’s been an intense one!

Along with my feelings of not wanting to blog comes an overwhelming feeling of guilt. I feel guilty because you, my lovely readers, read what I write and soak it up and respond so thoughtfully. So when I don’t blog, I feel like I’m not keeping up my end of the blogger/reader relationship.

But despite my guilt for not posting, I feel like an even bigger let down would be to put out crap content just to put out content. I want people to read the things that I say because they’re entertaining or informative, not just because they’re there.

Have you ever felt like this? What do you do when you’re feeling slumpy or inadequate as a blogger? I would love to hear about your experiences and advice!

I want to do better for you. I don’t promise to be perfect or even consistent, but I promise to try to do better. To put out at least a little bit of content that I’m proud of that I think you will enjoy.

Please know that I appreciate you even when I don’t do a great job of showing it!

a title here

 

4 thoughts on “Blogger Guilt – My 2¢

  1. I worry about everything all the time. Of course, I worry when I don’t write reviews. I worry when I actually write one, too. Is it good enough? Is it interesting enough? I don’t want to publish for the sake of publishing, I want the content to be worth the read.
    When I feel like I don’t have anything good to offer, I stick to reading other people’s posts and try to comment as much as possible to keep some kind of connection with other bloggers. And I remind myself blogging is not supposed to make me feel like I’m not good enough, or put pressure on me. It’s okay to have a blogging slump. Take the time you need and you’ll come back to it eventually 🙂

    Like

  2. I take blogging breaks all the time but I guess it’s less noticeable (I think) because I work towards scheduling [WIP] posts weeks in advance so that when I do need that break, I’ll have some semblance of content queued up at the ready for when I do need that me-time (which is always) to play video games or watch television and simply not read or blog hop etc.

    In terms of the genuineness of content or whatever you want to call it, only you would know/feel that it might be unworthy or boring or disengaging. It’s really another form of getting to know the blogger from the reader’s view and the only thing “negative” is going MIA or not having anything at all. Just some thoughts you should take with a grain of salt; it’s mostly a mental thing, I’d say that I do empathize with because I’ve been there too as blogging is a continually evolving practice/habit of finding what works and what doesn’t and winging it.

    Like

  3. I’m also a worrier- though it manifests a little differently. I just worry after I put up a different type of post if people will like it or if people will just go “OH MY GOODNESS THIS POST WAS RUBBISH!! I WILL NEVER READ ANYTHING YOU WRITE AGAIN!” (or something to that affect. Sometimes it makes me hold back posts (actually not sometime- I have *a ton* of completed posts I’ve not put out yet cos they’re a little different to what I usually do)
    But I get what you mean about that intense feeling of knowing people are reading what you write- cos that’s the same reason why I delay posts. I guess the great thing about blogging is (as cliche as this sounds) that we’re all in this together and we all have our ups and downs in the blogging community- so I guess what I’m trying to say is don’t worry, we all get it, we’re all in the same boat 🙂 We all look forward to reading what you write, but there’s no pressure 😀

    Like

  4. I feel exactly the same way! I don’t post regularly or as much or even as creative as a lot of bloggers. I want to put out good content whenever I do get to post however self-doubts become inevitable every time I post and see the others’ post.
    Don’t worry, you’re not alone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

