Top 5 Wednesday – Series I DNFed

TOP 5 WEDNESDAY (3)

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by gingerreadslainey. Find the topics on the Goodreads group.

This week’s topic is top 5 books series I DNFed.


If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that I DNFed a bunch of series in the beginning of October after being inspired by a Top Ten Tuesday topic.

Well, I DNFed five more series in the end of October.

375802endersshadow

The Ender Saga by Orson Scott Card

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with the two books that I read in this series. In fact, I really enjoyed them! But I think they stand as their own stories, so I don’t feel compelled to continue with the ridiculously long series.

Confessionsofashopaholic

The Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella

The idea of this series is really cute, but I find the main character SO annoying and childish. I really wanted to continue, but I read about 3 pages of the second book and decided I couldn’t do it. I think I will give Sophie Kinsella’s stand-alones a try though.

Shatter-Me

The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

I gave this series another shot in the month of October, but decided the writing style is not for me. It’s a shame too, because people really love this series.

11500217

The Penryn & the End of Days Series by Susan Ee

Truth be told, I really liked Angelfall. To continue with the series, I would have to re-read Angelfall though, and I have so many other books that I’d like to get to instead. I may circle back around to this series at some point, but for now it’s DNFed.

missperegrine_334x518 (1)23164983

The Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Series by Ransom Riggs

I just really haven’t enjoyed this series. I don’t think it’s anything spectacular other than the pictures. I honestly wish it were a coffee table book of pictures. I’m ready to move on, so I won’t be reading Library of Souls.


Do you DNF books and series? How does it make you feel?

a title here

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Series I DNFed

  1. Pingback: Book Fangirling Blog Award. |

  2. I’ve been feeling the same way about the Shatter Me trilogy. I really wanted to like it, but I struggled through the first book, mainly because of the writing style. I haven’t officially DNFed it yet, but I might if I can’t get into the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so unfortunate too, because I’ve heard so many good things. But there are just way more other better books out there that I want to read more. I may chug through the last 2 on audio just so I can say I’ve read them before the show comes out, but who knows!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment