Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Bookish Things I Want To Quit

top ten tuesday (3)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is ten bookish things I want to quit.


  1. Blog procrastination – I’m currently writing this post 2 days before it will go live. I really want to start getting ahead on my blogging so that I can read and comment on everyone else’s posts more! If you haven’t already, check out my post about Blog Ahead 2015 which is currently underway.
  1. Unfinished series – If you’ve been reading my blog at all, you’ll know that I’m really trying to eliminate unfinished series in my life. I want to adopt a marathoning approach to series. This will help me avoid finishing series years later and help me actually remember what happened to the characters in the first book or two.
  1. Taking out more library books than I can read – This is probably one of my worst habits! Not because I forget about them and get late fees, but because someone else could be reading and enjoying the book while it’s just sitting unread on my shelf.
  1. Book envy – Yes, I buy the vast majority of my books used. Yes, I’m pretty happy with collection that I have. But do I get jealous of people that buy whatever they want, whenever they want? Of course! Their bookshelves are beautiful and they keep up with the new releases and I get a little envious at times. But I just need to take a step back and remember that do books the way that I do books for a reason and I should be content with that.
  1. Finishing books/series that I’m not enjoying – I always feel like I have to finish a book or series once it’s started, even if I’m not enjoying it. It’s so difficult to just walk away from a book or series. But life’s too short to read bad books!
  1. Using random scraps for bookmarks – I have some really cute bookmarks (most of them were gifts) but haven’t been using them consistently for whatever reason. Rather than using a Goodwill receipt, I need to use an actual bookmark to keep my page – they’re much cuter.
  1. Making overly ambitious TBRs – I put 20 books on my October TBR. Why did I do that? Definitely not realistic. I should set manageable goals and then increase them as needed.
  1. Using my bookshelf as a storage unit – I really want my bookshelf to be beautiful. When I get new books, I need to shelve them immediately. Not a book? Find somewhere else to put it, Rachel!
  1. Not logging my purchases right away – Because I get my books used, I often pick up the books in a series out of order. I use Goodreads to track what I own and what I need. Unfortunately, lately I have been slacking on the tracking which has resulted in accidentally buying doubles. It’s not a huge deal since the books are so cheap, but it can be avoided if I just keep up with the tracking.
  1. Feeling like my reading/blogging is inadequate – I feel like people (myself, especially) are wired to want to do more, be better, try harder, etc. I often feel like I’m not reading enough, reading the right books, doing enough blogging, etc. But I read a lot! And I just got into blogging! And who cares what I read as long as I enjoy it, right?

Do you want to quit any of these bookish things, too? 

If not, what bookish thing do you want to quit?

a title here

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Bookish Things I Want To Quit

  1. I totally feel you on this! Especially with taking too much out of the library. For me, when i take too many out i get overwhelmed with the stacks that I only have for a couple of weeks and it triggers a reading slump so some control needs to be established there haha and with blogging! Pre-writing blog posts actually helps a lot, it kinda takes some of the pressure off. Good luck on tackling these! God knows I should haha

    Like

  2. Oh god I have the SAME issues with checking too many books out at once! I wind up checking out 10+ more at a time and only reading a couple or so. Such a waste. I love the library though so I think I will start placing books on hold that 2 or 3 books out at a time (books that I know I will read) and then not checking out books out unless they are on the TBR list. Libraries are just so tempting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also have some of these same issues!! Book envy is a hard one to get rid of. Also the feeling inadequate blogging – totally get that. I remind myself it’s all good just have fun. I have gotten a hold of getting ahead with blogging though. It is nice not to rush to get a post out all the time. Great list!!

    Like

  4. I did a similar post for my TTT this week. 🙂 I have the same problem with using random bits of paper as bookmarks, and not logging my purchases, and pretty much everything else you mentioned! I don’t know if I will ever break these habits, but I’m gonna try.

    Like

  5. I so agree with all of these but especially with taking to many books out and also with taking books out that I want to read, I tend to take out books that I think sound alright but then three weeks later they are still sitting on my bookshelf unread and it turns out I don’t want to read it anymore. The frustration!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree with you so, so much about all of these. Book envy is especially something I’m trying to cope with, most of the time. I wish I had more time and more money to get ALL the books and the pretty bookshelves and everything that goes with it. But eh, I’ll try to be happy with what I have, which is already great! And I get what you mean about feeling like, not reading enough, not blogging enough…but we should be content with what we do, and just keep on doing our thing, after all! 😀
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (cont.) – Series I Just DNFed | (bargain)bookbliss

  8. Pingback: Memes – My 2¢ | (bargain)bookbliss

Leave a comment